Tahquamenon Falls State Park - Upper & Lower Falls, Birding, Camp 33, and the Brewery & Pub.
Upper Peninsula
Tahquamenon Falls Beauty
Welcome to the Tahquamenon Falls State Park
Tahquamenon is special in many ways. One little known fact is that it is the second largest waterfall east of the Mississippi, with Niagara being the largest.
The beauty of this area is a must see when you are making your travel plans. Within the state park you will find many activities such as birding, fishing, hiking, sight-seeing, camping, snowmobiling, cross-country skiing, and more. The areas wildlife abound and by chance you may see black bear, whitetail deer, moose, and other wildlife.

Visit the Tahquamenon Falls Brewery and Pub & Camp 33
Located within the State Park at the Upper Falls.
Enjoy fine dining and micro brewed beers from the north. Camp 33 also has a unique gift shop with fine art, jewelry, souveniers, etc..

Cities Near the Tahquamenon Falls: Newberry & Paradise Michigan

History of the Tahquamenon Falls State Park
The Tahquamenon river was made famous in the Longfellow poem Hiawatha. According to Indian lore, the origin of the name Tahquamenon is attributed to the water's amber color, which is the result of leaching of tanic acid from the cedar and hemlock swamps that feed the river. The Tahquamenon is special in many ways. One little known fact is that it is the second largest waterfall east of the Mississippi, with Niagara being the largest.
Upper Tahquamenon Falls
One favorite leisure time activity for Jack and Mimi Barrett, grandparents of the current owners, was to make frequent trips canoeing, portaging and camping as they traversed their way from their home in Newberry along the river to the falls. Their love for the area compelled them to purchase the land adjacent to the falls. All the while, Jack dreamed of a time when the Tahquamenon Falls and forest could be made available for all to experience. Up to this point in time, mid 20th century, the falls were inaccessible except by boat. When the time was right, he orchestrated the construction of a road to the site and then negotiated with the Department of Natural Resources for the gift of his land to be used specifically for a State Park. A restriction in the deed directed that the road and parking lot would terminate 3/4 of a mile from the falls and that visitors would proceed on foot, thus preserving the parks natural beauty and virgin forest.

So what exactly is Camp 33? Logging camps were often given numbers rather than names and this camp rightfully received the name Camp 33 as it was the 33rd logging camp the Barrett Logging Company was to construct. In 1950, a replica of a logging camp was constructed under the watchful eye of Jack Barrett; it was to serve the public as an eating and resting place.

In 1990, the grandchildren of Jack and Mimi Barrett rebuilt Camp 33 and dedicated the new structure to the man whose forsight and philanthropy made possible the experience we all enjoy today. In 1996, the Brewery & Pub was built in keeping with the founder's vision. The focal point of all structures is the fire... a logging camp must! The warmth of the fire can now be enjoyed in all seasons.

©Copyright 2002 Superior Sights and Velvet Green Creations - All Photos, Web Pages, Text, Animations, Layout & Design may not be copied in any form without the written and expressed consent of Velvet Green Creations.
Michigan Web Designers
Velvet Green Creations is a full service Business Identity and Fine Arts Business.
Flash Animation,Web Sites, Web Design Components for other Designers and More! See our Featured Web Sites. Website Design byVelvet Green Creations Web Design Services. Creating great e-masterpieces. Visit us online at: www.velvetgreencreations.com - Fine Art and Web Design.
Velvet Green Creations and Superior Sights are not responsible for third party web site lodging reservations, third party content, safety and maintenance of any web sites linked from our pages. We are also not responsible for third party web site content that may include: copyrighted material, inappropriate content, or outward links to ininappropriate content.

Upper Peninsula Lighthouses
Au Sable Point Lighthouse Grand Marias
This lighthouse was built to help navigate sailors in their dreaded journey along the eight miles of Dark shoreline that runs between Grand Island Lighthouse and the famed light on Whitefish Point. This eighty-seven ft. brick tower was built on a rise, placing the light about 107 ft above the Lake service
Copper Harbor Lighthouse Copper Harbor
We begin with a 15 minute boat tour of the Harbor then we move onto the lighthouse where we are met by a state historian who greets us and then gives a guided tour after which you are allowed one hour to explore on your own
Crisp Point Lighthouse Paradise
Located approximately 12 to 13 miles west of Whitefish Point in a remote area in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. It was constructed in 1903 and 1904 and became operational on May 5, 1904. It was decommissioned in 1993. The lighthouse was once crowned with a fixed 360 degree, red, fourth order light and stands 58 feet from its base to the ventilator ball of the lantern. Originally this site contained a lifesaving station and quarters, a two family brick light keeper's house with basement, a brick fog signal building, an oil house, two frame barns, a boat house and landing, a tramway, a lighthouse tower, and a brick service room entrance building. Today all that remains is the lighthouse tower and part of the brick service room. Most of the service room was washed away by Lake Superior in November of 1996. In January of 1998, the Crisp Point Lighthouse Historical Society had stone placed in front of the lighthouse tower to protect it from Lake Superior.
De Tour Reed Lighthouse De Tour Village
Established in 1847 to assist boaters traveling to the northern end of Lake Huron, rebuilt in 1861 and automated in 1974, this Light shines for all boaters .In 1998 Civic leaders formed a preservation society to support and promote the restoration of the De Tour Reef Light.
Eagle Harbor Lighthouse Museum Eagle Harbor
This light is located 32 miles northeast of Houghton and was built in 1851 as an octagonal brick tower with an attached dwelling. A fog signal building was added in 1895. It is still an active light and the keeper's dwelling is operated as a public museum. The Keweenaw County Historical Society operates a fascinating nautical and historical museum in the lighthouse and surrounding buildings.
Eagle River Lighthouse Eagle River
Built in 1855 at the south end of the Eagle River. It is now a private residence.
Fourteen Mile Point Lighthouse Ontonagon
Located in Ontonagon County, fourteen miles northeast of Ontonagon.
Grand Island East Channel Lighthouse Munising
Built in 1863, this lighthouse sits on the southeast shore of Grand Island on private property and was automated in 1913. The lighthouses function was replaced by the Munising Range Lights.
Grand Island North Lighthouse Munising
On the northwest point of Grand Island.

Grand Marias Harbor Range Lighthouse Grand Marias
Located in Chippewa county at outer end of pier. Lighthouse is on private property so viewing is from water only.

Granite Island Lighthouse Marquette
Located in Marquette county on the northwest tip of granite island.
Whitefish Point Light Station Paradise
The only museum of it's kind dedicated to the perils of maritime transport on the Great Lakes. Whitefish Point is Michigan's oldest lighthouse on Lake Superior. The museum gallery features artifacts from 13 local shipwrecks, including the Edmund Fitzgerald's Bell.
Gull Rock Light Copper Harbor
Located in Keweenaw county, on Gull rock, west of Manitou Island.
Huron Island Lighthouse Marquette
Located in Marquette county on the northeast side of west Huron Island at about three miles offshore.
Lansing Shoal Lighthouse Gulliver
Located in Mackinac County about 9 miles north of Beaver Island, this light was built in 1928. In 1985 it was converted to Solar Power, it's third order fresnel lens were removed and put on display in the Michigan Historical Museum in Lansing.
Manistique East Breakwater Lighthouse Manistique
Located in Schoolcraft county on the end of the east breakwater.
Manitou Island Lighthouse Copper Harbor
Built in 1850 on an island at the eastern tip of the Keweenaw Peninsula, this is the oldest iron skeletal light tower on the Great Lakes. This was a particularly difficult post, isolated and very exposed. Keepers seldom served more than three years.
Marquette Harbor Lighthouse Marquette
One of the most picturesque lighthouses on Lake Superior. Leased from the Coast Guard and is part of the Marquette Maritime Museum.

Marquette Lower Harbor Breakwall Lighthouse Marquette
Located in Marquette county on the outer end of breakwater.

Marquette Maritime Museum Marquette
The museum tells a rich rewarding story of the maritime heritage of Marquette and Lake Superior. Exhibits include birch bark canoes, a "Fresno" lighthouse lens, VCR mini auditorium. Antique inboard and outboard motors, restored boats, shipwreck charts, and displays, 40' coast guard vessels, 36' coast guard lifeboat restoration, ore boat flags and related memorabilia. The museum is on the national historic places register.
Mendota Lighthouse Bete Grise
This lighthouse, built in 1895, was decommissioned in 1960 and is now a private residence on the shore of the Mendota Ship Canal which connects Lac La Belle to Keweenaw Bay. It can be viewed from across the canal. On July 5, 1998 this lighthouse was reactivated.
Munising Range Lighthouses Munising
This site consist of a pair of 1908 lighthouses that are still in use today. The front range light is a tower that is blinded to provide the range beam. The tower is a white-steelplated conical tower and stands about 50 feet tall. The rear range light is located farther inland and stands upon a small hill. This tower is 30 feet tall. By lining up the two lamps, mariners may navigate within the channel.
Ontonagon Lighthouse Ontonagon
Located in Ontonagon County on the south bank of Ontonagon River.
Peninsula Point Lighthouse Rapid River
Built in 1864 to aid the sailing ships in avoiding the dangerous shoals hidden off the channels. The 1 1/2 story brick home was destroyed in 1959 by fire, but the 40 foot light tower is open to the public. Also, a hiking trail through the wooded shoreline offers down to earth wildlife viewing. Commonly seen are ducks, geese, gulls, and shorebirds. During the migration seasons, the spring and fall, look for monarch butterflies, spring warblers, and blue herons. Portions of this area are open to public hunting. Contact the Michigan Dept of Natural Resources for affected seasons and locations. Further rest rooms and picnic areas are available.
Point Iroquois Light Bay Mills
Located in Chippewa county. On Iroquois point, six miles northwest of Brimley.
Point Iroquois Lighthouse Brimley
This lighthouse was first Illuminated in 1857 and it's fourth order Fresnel lens shone over one of the busiest shipping lanes in the World from the entrance to the St. Marys River and the Soo Locks. The 65 ft. tower is open to the public during certain viewing hours, or from top of the sandy shoreline.
Portage Lake Lower Entry Lighthouse Lake Linden
Built in 1930, it is located at the end of the long breakwall at White City.